July monthly meeting: Join the Executive Committee!

Our July meeting will be held at the Culpeper Board of Supervisors Meeting Room, 302 N Main St, at 7pm on July 24th.

Board of Supervisors room at a recent public meeting on ICE. Many of our members were present! Photo Credit: Culpeper Star Exponent

The CCDC Executive Committee is reorganizing!

We have several officer vacancies to fill. Officers will be voting members of the Culpeper Democrats executive committee. A majority vote of the Executive Committee has the authority to act on behalf of the Democrat Party of Culpeper County in between meetings of the full membership — so this is a big deal!

On July 24th, four officer vacancies will be voted on: 1st vice chair, 2nd vice chair, secretary, and web manager. 

1st Vice Chair – Conducts meetings when the chair is unavailable. Identifies areas of responsibility according to the needs of the committee and their own interest. For example, proposing, organizing, and planning special CCDC events and fundraisers.

Candidates: Meroë Dawson, 

2nd Vice Chair – Conducts meetings when the chair and 1st vice chair are both unavailable. Identifies areas of responsibility according to the needs of the committee and their own interest. For example: membership recruitment and diversification. (Culpeper is 25% nonwhite and our membership should reflect that.)

Candidates: Rebecca Layne,

Web Manager – Maintains and updates the website. Sends Mailchimp updates. Responds to Facebook and email messages. Posts images of our events on social media. Should be a good writer, and familiar with WordPress and Mailchimp or willing to learn.

Candidates: , 

Secretary – Prepares minutes of general and executive meetings to be published online. Takes attendance at general meetings. Maintains membership roll and keeps track of membership forms. Should be a good writer and well-organized.

Candidates: Ed Dunphy,

Please let Ben know (chair@culpeperdemocrats.org) if you’re interested in running!

For nonmembers: If you’re not currently a member but wish to both join and run for an office, you must submit your membership form and $30 two-year fee before being declared a candidate. You can submit your forms online by email to chair@culpeperdemocrats.org or info@culpeperdemocrats.org and pay your membership fee online at https://secure.actblue.com/donate/joinccdc, or else submit both by postal mail to PO Box 131, Culpeper, VA, 22701. We will vote you in as a member before the officer vote.

Inaugural Meeting of the 2018-2019 CCDC Executive Committee

On January 17th, the newly elected Change Slate – Ben Hixon, Tristan Shields, Laura Bynum, Pam Novy, Meroë Dawson and Nancy Dailey – held their first Executive Committee Meeting. These executive meetings are historically administrivial and boring, but boy was this one well-attended!

Culpeper Democrats Get In Here

Thanks all who came out last night to talk about VA's 7th Congressional District nominating process. Mark your calendars for 1st General Mtg of 2018 – JAN 29th – see our event for details Diane Fraser for Congress Dan Ward for Congress Alli For Virginia Abigail Spanberger for Congress

Posted by Culpeper County Democratic Committee on Thursday, January 18, 2018

Minutes to this meeting and all other executive committee meetings can be found here.