2019 State Elections

Thanks to your hard work in 2018, Culpeper County now contains an island of bright blue. We belong to 5 state districts – three in the Virginia State Senate, two in the Virginia House of Delegates. Currently, all five districts are occupied by Republicans. It’s time we change that!

Our candidates

The first step is to choose our nominees for each district. So far, three of our five districts have publicly announced candidates.

District Current Occupant Declared Democratic Candidates

State Senate 17

Bryce Reeves (R)


State Senate 24

Emmett Hanger (R)

Annette Hyde

No other publicly announced candidate at this time.

State Senate 27

Jill Vogel (R)

Ronnie Ross

No other publicly announced candidate at this time.

House District 18

Michael Webert (R)

Laura Galante

Tristan Shields

No other publicly announced candidates at this time.

House District 30

Nick Freitas (R)




Interested in running for state office?

How our nominees are chosen:

Nominating committees formed by the county Democratic committees that compose each district will meet in January and February to decide the nominating process: primary or caucus.

Primary. For elections with multiple candidates in which a primary is the nominating process, the primary will be in June 2019. Elections will take place at your normal polling place. Candidates will need to obtain enough signatures to be on the ballot by March 28th. If only one candidate qualifies for the primary by March 28th, the primary will be canceled and the candidate will be declared the winner.

Caucus. Choosing a candidate by caucus is a two-step process.

  1. County caucuses. Each county in the district will hold an individual caucus to choose its delegates. Delegates can declare their commitment to a particular candidate, or remain uncommitted. Declared delegates will be committed to support the candidate they declare for. Uncommitted delegates are free to vote how they like. Counties will begin holding caucuses to choose their delegates starting April 25th. These caucuses can either be assembled, which means all Democratic voters in the county gather together simultaneously in one centralized location and choose their delegates, or unassembled, which means voters can vote throughout the day. An unassembled caucus is also referred to as a firehouse primary.
  2. Convention. Once each county has held a caucus to choose its delegates, those delegates will then attend a convention and cast their vote for their candidate. Candidates will be able to address the delegates at the convention, and uncommitted delegates will be able to make up their minds based on those speeches. The candidate with the most votes at the convention will be declared the nominee.

For more info:

Please contact the Chair of the Culpeper Democrats at chair@culpeperdemocrats.org